To Be Like a Great Man

From the first, I set my resolve to be like a great man. Make myself correct and the things [of life] follow a correct way. If I can even resemble this, even if I die a meritless death in vain, I shall not regret it.
The Third Year of Ansei, the Twentieth Day of May. “Minutes of the Head Lecturer.”

11日大人を以て
余は初めより大人を以て志を立て、己れを正しうして物を正しくせんとするなり。若しかくの如くにして、功なくして徒死するとも、吾れ敢へて悔いざるなり。
安政三年五月二十日「講孟箚記」

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

