I Should Be a Knight

Most certainly, I personally should exist as a scholar. Being a scholar is not reading books and writing poems. It is nothing but devoting myself to my work and giving something to the world. Furthermore, most certainly I should be a knight (bushi). Being a knight is not being violent. It is nothing but serving my prince without holding my own life dear.
The Fourth Year of Kouka. “A Record of Unselfishness”

23日武士を以てすべし
吾れの自ら処るは当に学者を以てすべし。謂ふ所の学なるものは書を読み詩を作るの謂非ず。身の職を尽して世用に供するのみ。又当に武士を以てすべし。謂ふ所の武ばるものは麤暴の謂に非ず、君に事へて生を懐はざるのみ。
功化四年「寡欲録」

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

