When I did so

When I did it
I knew what would happen
Yet though I knew this
My Japanese Spirit
said it must be done.
The Fourth of Ansei, the 24th of April. “Letter from Prison Lifted Up to My Brother Hakukyou.”

This is a waka poem, the original in romanji is:
Kaku sureba
Kaku naru mono to
Shiri nagara
Yamu ni yamarenu
Yamato-Damashii

24日かくすれば
かくすればかくなるものとしりながら、
やむにやまれぬやまとだしひ
安政元年四月二十四日「獄中より家兄伯教に上る書」

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

